Re-Evaluating Storage

It all started with a cat ledge.
Finnigan, my male cat, really enjoys looking out the office window, but unfortunately the windows in our house have no space for his little (big) bottom. So, I built him a ledge with a piece of wood and two wooden corbels (civilians would call them brackets, or maybe “things that hold up shelves”).

Super easy, and since I had some wood left over, I began thinking about shelves.
Now I have spent the last few days building shelves for closets.

The office closet has gone from one shelf to, oh, hundreds. I am now very good at finding studs, the long pieces of support wood inside the walls. I have broken many a drill bit, been mad, and then felt kind of strong and manly, for lack of a better word, that my concerns in life include broken drill bits. My father is a carpenter, and I feel like I am answering the call of my blood.

So now I have custom built closets in the office (you can’t see them yet, because it STILL isn’t neat, even though everything is off the floor), two shelves for Daniel’s DVDs, and 4 shelves for my art supplies. Still to come are two additional shelves in the bedroom closet and another cat ledge in the bedroom. I am out of control and I love it.

But once the shelves are finished, will I use them, or abuse them? So I made a list of our four possible storage places, and have assigned usage probability to each place. This is where I am going with all of this, and hopefully you can glean some good from the rambling.

Four Types of Storage
1. Daily Use
2. Weekly Use orSporadic
3. Monthly or Guest Use
4. Yearly Use OR When You Have a Bigger House 
These “types” of storage should be used to audit each item on a closet shelf, that way some things are not grouped all together simply because they are all clothes, all toiletries, or all linens. They will not get lonely. They can be separated.
So:
1. Daily Use: Bedroom Closet –  This is closest to our bathroom, which has no storage besides the shelf I put above the door to hold toilet paper stacked in a pyramid. So, we have to fit our clothes, shoes, and toiletries there, and space is at a premium. It’s at this point in the “re-evaluating storage” that I realize we have our bedsheet linens in the bedroom closet – clearly a waste. They are not changed daily, and should instead be put in…
2. Weely/Sporadic Use: Office Closet. Sporadic I will define as unpredictable use. This is the biggest closet and now has the most shelves, but it also needs room for the cat boxes. This will house electronic items, binders/scrapbooks, ironing board, evening dresses, tools, and now linens.
3. Monthly/Guest Use: The Trunk
You may remember this lovely number, which now sits in our living room and houses guest sheets, blankets, and some theatre posters from undergrad (I am adding Keepsakes to this category). We also have a smaller trunk ($8 at St Vincent de Paul!!) that houses our inflatable air mattress. Easy to get to at a moment’s notice!
4. Yearly/Seasonal: The Attic. Last but not least, these are the things that can be bundled away and only merit the inconvenience of their retrieval once or twice a year: Christmas decorations, winter coats, and large suitcases. Also space heaters and fans, which need to be switched out. I do not recommend putting things in the attic that can otherwise be donated, but I will also add to this items that should be kept for when your housing situation changes. For now, we have a lovely roommate, but soon she will want to move off on her own, and we will have a new room to furnish, making that big silver floor lamp a necessity to keep.
One thought on “Re-Evaluating Storage

Leave a Reply

