Tips for Extended Stay

10. Put out your Do Not Disturb sign.
If you don’t, they WILL knock on your door in the morning to refresh those little conditioners you’re not even using. If you need a room item (new towels, coffee, an extra blanket) just call down to the desk when you want it. Get your z’s.

9. Go to the grocery store.
I don’t know about you, but I am a snacker, and I don’t want to have to put on clothes just to get a snack (even with room service, you do have to answer the door). As soon as you can, go to the grocery store and get things that represent at least breakfast and a snack. Good non-refrigeratorables = oranges, apples, peanut butter, crackers, cookies, nuts, raisins and other dried fruit, red wine, and cereal you don’t mind eating dry. Those little tuna and crackers lunchables are particularly great. If you can get a refrigerator, you can start perusing the edge of the grocery store again, and if you get a microwave you basically have a kitchen!

8. Unpack.
I know this seems like a no brainer, but it does seem like a lot of work to choose a place for everything, and especially to hang everything up. But in the end it is much better to not be living out of that suitcase.

7. Use the cups.
I have a water cup assigned to my makeup/brushes/scissors/tweezers and a mug for my toothbrush and toothpaste. If there’s any little trays that come with the room, put them to good use holding your hair products, lotions, etc. If you aren’t getting regular room cleanings, who cares if you move things around?
Which brings me to…

6. Rearrange the furniture.
I started doing this without even realizing it. I have two double beds in my room, which is clearly more than one person needs. I started by moving one horizontally against the wall, creating a kind of daybed and giving me more floor space for doing workouts in my room. If you can’t move your furniture, still think of ways to use pieces you wouldn’t normally use.

5. Get some flowers.
I already posted about this, but I love having flowers in my room. They give a little life and color, and it’s also something I couldn’t do at home, because the cats would eat them.

4. Find out the extras you can get.
Turns out that if you ask, most hotels that are accustomed to extended stay have things that they aren’t advertising. I asked for a refrigerator, robe, and extra hangers which were both given at no charge! I also borrowed cutlery and dishes.

3. Do not trust them with your wake-up call.
Especially if it could change. They will inevitably call you at the earlier time.

2. Get a view.
Hotels are oddly accommodating. If you ask, especially as an extended stay guest, I bet you can!

1. Don’t feel like you have to watch the t.v.
This has saved me recently. I love watching episodes of my favorite shows on Hulu, and Netflix Instant Viewing is awesome. But having that huge tv in the front of the room – always there, always black, nothing I really want to watch on it – was very distracting. Call me crazy, but I covered it with a scarf. If I find out something good is on, fine. But I do not want to feel like I have to turn it on just because it is there, especially when all that’s on are commercials and reality t.v.

There are my tips for extended stay! I hope yours is jolly too!

Leave a Reply

