Dish-Drying Cabinet: Eliminate the Dish Rack FOREVER

I really want one of these. It’s been awhile since I have thought about it, but I remember reading this article forever-ago (it’s Fine Homebuilding Online) and in my recent “kitchen review” phase have gone back to the desire for one – I am entering a period of house design ruminating that I would like to call “the wants,” where I want about a million new things and have to decide what to do first!

Photo by: Eric Roth Photography
From Fine Homebuilding191 (Kitchens & Baths) , pp. 22 October 5, 2007
The thing that kills me about this is I don’t really know if it’s something I should go making by myself. Most likely I will have to either get a carpenter or convince my dad to come visit. 
If you want to see one that’s a little less posh, but that is directly over the sink the way I envision ours, here is a blogpost about one in a normal Finnish apartment. From what I can gather by reading forums, these dish-drying racks are incredibly common in Europe. I suppose they aren’t here because everyone has a dishwasher. Oh, wait. Except all the people who don’t.

 

This is not very pretty, but you get the idea.

This one is really nice, I like the plates and dishes!
A sweet one from Offbeat Home. I think it would look better with doors (hence the whole point of it being a cabinet) but they built it themselves so I am going to give them a little leeway.

I did find a Canadian website that supplies the internal dishracks, here at Richelieu Hardware.

There are three different sizes, but the website says they only supply wholesale (makes no sense to me, when they are for homes!)

FINALLY, and I actually got kind of excited about this, seems to be a company (copyright 2012!!) that has emerged to sell to consumers in the States. Naturally they have an intriguing website and then it says “Contact Us to Purchase,” which I actually consider hostile – why not just post your prices? Or just admit that you aren’t ready to sell yet and submit your email to be put on a mailing list?
If there is something I hate more than not being able to find something I want,
it’s being told I have to make a phone call just to inquire about it.

Anyway, here is the website: http://www.thedripdry.com/. See for yourself.

Definitely intrigued by the louvered system they have worked out!
I may just have to call them.

If anyone has one of these, please let me know how you got it.

A word of warning: Doing my internet research I found www.dishdrycupboard.com which is definitely a scam, seeing as how it ripped most of the same pictures I just showed!

2 thoughts on “Dish-Drying Cabinet: Eliminate the Dish Rack FOREVER

    • You know, I never did! I had to settle for a lot of IKEA wire dryers attached together! We recently got a dishwasher so I probably won’t keep up the search, but please post here if you find one!

Leave a Reply

