My kitchen: Dark Wood Cabinets and Warm Grey Walls: Update

I finally found a photo of dark brown cabinetry with grey walls in what looks like a small kitchen (courtesy ApartmentTherapy) – and I love it! Currently our kitchen walls are painted light blue, which definitely feels bungalow-y, but there is something a little undignified about it and I would rather hearken to the Spanish style leanings of the house. Which are, might I add, just leanings. We have stucco, but no tile roof and archways, but they are not curved! It doesn’t know WHAT it wants to be, which I think has been part of the struggle redesigning our little artist cottage of a house. But after seeing this photo I feel more confident that a neutral color palette will help soothe the space. Nothing like a hunk of bread on the counter to make me feel like this is the right way to go 🙂

This was first published April 26, 2012.

Here’s the new paint job:

 

 

image

Leave a Reply

